top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHanna Safley

Good News!

Four days ago my ANC (the count that shows how my immune system is doing) was 0 like it has been for the past three and a half weeks. On Monday it moved up to 15 and my doctors told me not to get excited because it could go right back down. Well yesterday morning my ANC is 76! My doctor came in saying how she is having hope that the count will continue to go up and that I will more than likely be out of the hospital by Monday. Today it did drop to 42 but that is totally expected and the docs think it will go up and down but still trend up. Once I'm out of the hospital I'll stay in a house outside the hospital but can take some day trips home. Once I recover a little more I'll have a bone marrow biopsy to see how much the chemo did to get rid of the cancer.

My nurse today came in and told me that I can't let the cancer take over my life and that its all temporary and while I didn't want to admit it he was completely true. It seems like such a long time from now that this will be over and its overwhelming to think about but also this one month has gone by so fast it seems. I can only hope that at the end of this it seems like a blink of an eye. The days may be long but the weeks are short.


86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 Years Ago Today

It was exactly 3 years ago today I was diagnosed with acute myeloid leukemia. The diagnosis that flipped my world upside down. I decided to call my Mary Bridge doctor and left a message how I am doing

Not a good day...

Today I learned that a super close friend of mine, Haley Branton, has relapsed for the 2nd time at 13 years old. She had been 4 years out of her bone marrow transplant when they found some abnormal ce

Diagnosis Anniversary

When I started this blog almost two years ago I really thought I would do more than 6 posts but things got pretty difficult and I not only lost the ability to focus and type I lost all motivation. But

bottom of page