top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHanna Safley

Moving In

I'm not sure what I made this blog for, maybe for my own mental sanity or as a way to let everyone else know what's going on. Probably both. Well either way I have officially moved into Seattle Childrens Hospital. I thought that when it was time to move out of home it meant that I'm moving into a dorm at UW but no. Instead I have a view of husky stadium and the space needle from my hospital bed. Ive been in the hospital for two full days now and I kinda got the hang of some things. I am attached to a pole and I can't go anywhere or do anything without it, there is no such thing as sleeping through the night, and there is a lot waiting just to wait some more. Sunday and Tuesday I had two (very purple and strong) chemotherapy's called CPX-351. The nurses have me scheduled on all the nausea meds so they can stay ahead of it. So I haven't felt too sick *knock on wood* I recieve one more chemo on Thursday and that is it for this round. Even though I'm only getting the chemo three times, there is a fat mixed in with it that allows it to stay in my bone marrow and continue to kill cells for weeks after. This is a fairly new drug that has been approved by the FDA and has shown some promising results in secondary AML. So I'm just going to do what I know best and that is to kick cancers ass! #fcancer
-Hanna


-hanna

209 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

3 Years Ago Today

It was exactly 3 years ago today I was diagnosed with acute myeloid leukemia. The diagnosis that flipped my world upside down. I decided to call my Mary Bridge doctor and left a message how I am doing

Not a good day...

Today I learned that a super close friend of mine, Haley Branton, has relapsed for the 2nd time at 13 years old. She had been 4 years out of her bone marrow transplant when they found some abnormal ce

Diagnosis Anniversary

When I started this blog almost two years ago I really thought I would do more than 6 posts but things got pretty difficult and I not only lost the ability to focus and type I lost all motivation. But

bottom of page