top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHanna Safley

The Beginning

Updated: May 29, 2019

As many of you already know, I have developed a secondary cancer called Treatment Related Acute Myloid Leukemia because of a chemo I received from my last treatment for Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia. I found out last Thursday after some bad blood counts and a bone marrow biopsy that I have this cancer. It was a less than 1% chance that this would happen. Over the weekend the most amazing thing happened, my friends and leadership class got together and created my very own graduation. There was so much love that day it was overwhelming and wonderful. That night I had a mini prom with my best friends! We went to dinner and had a sleepover to get our minds off the diagnosis. That next morning I dyed my hair purple just for the hell of it. It has been a crazy few days. On Tuesday I met my oncologist and transplant doctor in Seattle and we went over the tentative plan for the next few months. I had to have about 20 tubes of blood taken for a bunch of different tests that day and I saw the hospital rooms that I will soon be staying in. On Wednesday I had an ultrasound of my chest to see where the catheter can be placed and today my surgeon put in a Hickman Catheter. This will stay here in my chest while I am getting treatment. As of now the plan is that tomorrow I have another bone marrow biopsy to see the difference in leukemia cells from last Thursday and then on Sunday, I will be admitted into Seattle Childrens for my first round of chemo. I will stay in there for a little over a month while I am getting infusions and recovering. After this first month is over (and we should know who my bone marrow donor will be by then) I will have a second round of chemo that is a tougher, plus some radiation. This will take about a month as well. As long as I am in remission after this second round, which is what my doctors are hoping for, I will go strait into transplant. I will need to stay in the hospital for at least 100 days after the transplant procedure happens becase I will be incredibly immune compromised. During this time I am allowed visitors as long as you are not sick and do not have any symptoms. Please don't be afraid to text me if you'd like to visit! Thank you for everyones support during this crazy time!


-hanna


252 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

3 Years Ago Today

It was exactly 3 years ago today I was diagnosed with acute myeloid leukemia. The diagnosis that flipped my world upside down. I decided to call my Mary Bridge doctor and left a message how I am doing

Not a good day...

Today I learned that a super close friend of mine, Haley Branton, has relapsed for the 2nd time at 13 years old. She had been 4 years out of her bone marrow transplant when they found some abnormal ce

Diagnosis Anniversary

When I started this blog almost two years ago I really thought I would do more than 6 posts but things got pretty difficult and I not only lost the ability to focus and type I lost all motivation. But

bottom of page